Established in 1964, Animal Welfare League of SA (AWL) operates the state's largest animal shelter and leads the industry in re-homing lost, surrendered and abandoned animals. AWL is proud to provide high-quality animal care facilities to South Australia’s companion animals, their owners, and the broader community. 

The coming years are set to be an exciting phase of change and growth, as we prepare to move into our new $20m state-of-the-art an animal welfare and care provider recognised for the provision and development of services for animals in need.

AWL has thousands of dedicated supporters who fund AWL's crucial work bringing people and pets together to benefit the South Australian community. 

An elected volunteer board governs the activities of the organisation, directing our long-term strategic direction. The management team, under the guidance of CEO Dr Julie Bellamy, is responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of the business.     


Mr Steven Weinert   BA (Acc)  MCom  FCPA  GAICD

General Manager Corporate Services, Wine Australia/Australian Grape & Wine Authority

  • Year joined AWLSA Board: 2016
  • Member of the Finance & Audit Sub-Committee
  • Member of the Risk & Governance Sub-Committee
  • Member of the Executive Sub-Committee


Ms Katherine Bartolo   AAPI CPV

Valuer-General South Australia, Commercial and Legal,  Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure

  • Year joined AWLSA Board: 2018
  • Member of the Animal Welfare Sub-Committee
  • Member of the Project Control Group


Ms Michelle Williams     MBA

Manager, Change Management, Department of Premier and Cabinet, Shared Services

  • Year joined AWLSA Board: 2014
  • Previous Chair of the Board: November 2018 to March 2019

Ms Cate Gaston      BA  GDipTour  GDipMgt  FGLF17

Consumer Insights Advisor, Adelaide City Council

  • Year joined AWLSA Board: 2016
  • Member of the Risk & Governance Sub Committee


Veterinary Surgeon

  • Year joined AWLSA Board: 2017
  • Chair Finance and Audit Sub-Committee (FASC)

Dr Jo Powell   BSc  DVM  BEd (Adult Ed)  DipMgt  CIVTAE 

Veterinarian and Principal Lecturer, Foundation Skills, Primary Industries, Animal and Laboratory Sciences, TAFE SA

  • Year joined AWLSA Board: 2018
  • Chair Animal Welfare Sub-Committee (AWSC)
  • Member of the Executive Sub-Committee

Ms Louise Miller Frost B App Sc MA MPH MBA FAICD  

CEO, St Vincent De Paul Society SA Inc

  • Year joined AWLSA Board: 2018
  • Chair of the Risk & Governance Sub-Committee 
  • Member of the Executive Sub-Committee

Ms Lisa Bielby LLB(with Hons) and BA(Hons)(Psych)​

Partner, Lynch Meyer Lawyers, Adelaide

Ms Kylie Fergusen

CEO, Community Centres SA